A Birthday Feast

I had a birthday yesterday! One of the great things about birthdays is getting to eat what you want. At first I was stuck. What is my favorite food? I really like ice cream, but I haven’t found that ice cream is actually the best meal replacement to make me feel good physically. Then I thought about how much I like fresh food– whatever is in season. Based on that and some inspiration from the Internet, my birthday dinner menu consisted of:

Grilled chicken

Corn on the cob

This fantastic chickpea, pesto, tomato & mozzarella salad from the Blog Two Peas and Their Pod

Chocolate zucchini cake

Grilled zucchini, adapted from a recipe by the Pioneer Woman. The zucchini was from Diane’s farm stand in Hazelwood, Dylamato’s. 

For other thoughts on the food I like, check out my Pinterest food board. I probably have just as many sweets on there as I do “healthy” foods… like I said, it’s all about balance!!

Thanks to Devon, Rachel, Candace, Jordan, Andie and Kyle for doing the legwork on cooking up all this great food! Yum!!

Leave a Reply

